Lompat ke konten Lompat ke sidebar Lompat ke footer

What’s is Child Development Stages?

Hi friend, how are you guys this time? Good hope This time we will discuss how the development phase in children, now to find out more, see the article below.

What’s is Child Development Stages?

Child Development Stages

The development phase in children is divided into several types according to their characteristics. Among other things are as follows.

What is the Child Development Stages based on biological characteristics?

According to Sigmund Freud as explained by Ancok and Suroso (Ancok, Djamaluddin, 2001: 67–68) based on the concept of psychoanalysis compiling the following stages of development:
a. Infantile phase: 0: 0-5: 0 years
b. Latent phase: 5: 0-12: 0 years
c. Puberty phase: 12: 0-18: 0 years
d. Genital phase: 18: 0-20: 0 years

In the latent period children tend to be calm, impulses appear to be always depressed and inconspicuous. That's why at this time the child is relatively easy to be educated, tends to obey and obey. 

While at puberty, the impulses that reappear and if these impulses can be transferred and sublimated well, the child will arrive at the final maturity period. In the genital period, the sexual drive begins to be truly interested in other types of opponents.


Aristotle (384-322 S.M) divides the period of development for 21 years in 3 periods, namely:
  • The phase of a child (0-7 years), this phase will end when the child has a change of teeth.
  • The phase of school children (7-14 years), this phase starts from the growth of new teeth until some symptoms arise the functioning of the sex glands.
  • Adolescent phase (puberty) 14-21 years, can be referred to as the period of transition of children to adults. This phase starts with the operation of the sex glands until entering adulthood.

What is the Child Development Stages according to psychological characteristics?

A child's development based on the condition and characteristics of the child's psyche at a certain time.


Kohnstamm shares the following developments:
a. Vital period (breastfeeding), until the age of two years
b. Childhood (aesthetic), age one and a half to 7 years
c. School age (intellectual), ages 7 to 14 years
d. Adolescence, ages 14 to 21 years
e. Adulthood, aged 21 years and above

The psychological characteristics used by Oswald Kroh are his views on children who generally have mental agitation manifested in the form of trotz (stubborn) nature. On this basis he divides the development period into 3 phases, namely:
  • Early child phase: From birth (0-3 years). At the end of this phase the first trot occurs, which is marked by all children denying or opposing.
  • School harmony phase: from 3-13 years old. At the end of this period the second trotic nature arises, where children like to oppose others, especially to their parents.
  • Maturity phase: children aged 14-19 years. In this phase the child begins to realize its shortcomings and strengths, which are faced with a reasonable attitude.

What is the Child Development Stages based on the concept of developmental tasks?

The task of development is a variety of developmental traits that are expected to arise and possess every human being in the period of its development. This period was started by Robert J. Havighurst, namely:
  • Periods of infants and children: ages 0-6 years.
  • School period: 6-12 years old.
  • Adolescence: 12-18 years old.
  • Adult period (early adulthood): age 18-30 years.
  • Mid adult age (Middle age): 30-50 years old.
  • Old period (latter maturity): age 50 years and above.

So how? Do you know the phase of development that occurs in children? Of course, you will be very useful for you, hope this article is useful. Greetings of literacy.

Author: Moh. Rizky P A